The Skies of Seoul – above and beyond…

It has been over a month since my last post, and I deeply apologize for those who wish to have a more predictable blog series, as this one is at the whim of my homework and trips as they come each week! However, I will try my best to keep this flowing more regularly now, as there is a certain degree of procrastination on my part which is to blame as well…

Since my last post, I have seen so much, but I will not give a general overview as I have in my past posts, rather for this and the next three posts I will look at Seoul from an “elemental” perspective (oh, why no, this has nothing to do with my favorite show of all time…). Air, Earth, Water and Fire! So you may then guess, “Is this crazy boy going to show pictures of Seoul on fire?!?” – well, no. While the first three posts are obviously about the landscape of Seoul and surrounding Korea (though the occasional metaphor will appear), the last one is devoted to exploring the energy, life and dynamic growth that is modern Korea and its rapidly changing people. Ofcourse these chapters are really never over while I am still here, so I think I will explore these 4 elements again in the spring to see what new things I can add!

Best of all, these 4 posts will rolling on up all through this month – be sure to check out my new branch photo-only blog for South Korea here!

And so…Air.

I’ll start with a quote on the definition from that incredible show, Avatar:

“Air is the element of freedom. The Air Nomads detached themselves from worldly problems and concerns; and finding peace and freedom was the key to solve their flaws in life…The key to Airbending is flexibility and finding and following the path of least resistance. Airbending is notable for being almost entirely defensive, as well as the most dynamic of the four Bending arts.”

I can’t agree more with the above idea, it really is a liberating feeling where you can interact with the sky, feel the wind, and let all the sounds around you be enhanced and mixed with those from near and afar. Air for me is indeed like the behaviour of many of us in our daily lives, we are always searching for answers, being flexible and moving to the goal in the easiest way possible. These are traits that often lead to the best and worst ideas from our species, it all depends on what we make of the people and places we experience in our lives along the way.

And so I leave this post for you to flow your own thoughts, emotions, goals and hopes for both yourself and the planet into the New Year…

Never lose sight of the important things in life – your body, those around you and critically future generations are depending on it! Take care everyone, as always, keep it green~

Leave a Reply

